en

Poortersloge

The Burghers’ Lodge was built between 1395 and 1417 and was commissioned by the commercial elite of the time, the burgesses of Bruges (patricians and merchants). In those days, this area was at the very centre of international trade. This was where ships were loaded and unloaded and traders could see their ships approaching from the tower. Trading nations built their ‘nation houses’ in the vicinity - these were used to accommodate international representatives and to store goods. The burgesses of Bruges received their trade partners in the Burghers’ Lodge.

Between 1720 and 1890, the Poortersloge was an art school. The classrooms of the Bruges Academy were located here. After the French Revolution, the Academy became a refuge for works of art which had been rescued from the demolished churches of Bruges, including some panels by the Flemish Primitives. The building took on its current appearance at the end of the 19th century and in 1912, the Poortersloge and some adjoining buildings were restored and turned into the City Archive. One hundred years later, the City Archive was moved to a new building due to lack of space.

Today, the Burghers’ Lodge is a new location for contemporary art in Bruges. There are a number of exhibitions held here each year, ranging from themed projects to presentations of private collections and solo exhibitions by contemporary artists. 

 

Because of the corona measures, Musea Brugge works with a reservation system. Click here for more information.

To pdf

Time information

from 20-09-2020 to 15-11-2020
Monday closed
Tuesday closed
Wednesday closed
Thursday 14:00 - 18:00 h
Friday 14:00 - 18:00 h
Saturday 14:00 - 18:00 h
Sunday 14:00 - 18:00 h
sluitingsperiode(s)

16/11/2020 - 31/12/2020

additional closing dates
  • 1 November 2020
Payment methods

,

Locatie

Kraanrei 19 , Brugge
directions

Location

Accessibility
  • Establishment partly accessible Establishment partly accessible
Facilities
  • Change nappies Change nappies

Contact & Informatie

fr

La Loge des Bourgeois a été construite entre 1395 et 1417 sur ordre de l'élite commerciale de l'époque, les bourgeois de la ville de Bruges. À l'époque, ce quartier était la plaque tournante du commerce international. Des navires y étaient chargés et déchargés. Depuis la tourelle, les commerçants pouvaient voir arriver leurs navires. Les nations commerçantes ont construit dans les environs immédiats leurs maisons de commerce dans lesquelles des représentants internationaux logeaient et des marchandises étaient entreposées. Dans la Loge des Bourgeois, les bourgeois brugeois recevaient leurs partenaires commerciaux.

Entre 1720 et 1890, la Loge des Bourgeois a servi d'école d'art. L'Académie de Bruges y avait ses salles de classe. Après la Révolution française, l'Académie a également abrité des œuvres d'art provenant d'églises brugeoises démolies, dont plusieurs panneaux de Primitifs flamands. À la fin du 19e siècle, le bâtiment a pris son aspect actuel et la Loge des Bourgeois ainsi que plusieurs maisons attenantes ont été restaurées et aménagées comme Archives de l’État dès 1912. Cent ans plus tard, les Archives de l'État ont déménagé dans un nouveau bâtiment par manque de place.

Aujourd'hui, la Loge des Bourgeois est le nouveau lieu de l'art contemporain à Bruges. Chaque année, le bâtiment accueille un certain nombre d'expositions qui vont de projets thématiques à des présentations de collections privées ou des expositions individuelles d'artistes contemporains.

 

 

En raison des mesures contre le corona, Musea Brugge travaille avec un système de réservations. Cliquez ici pour plus d'informations.

vers pdf
vers pdf

Informations horaires

de 20-09-2020 à 15-11-2020
lundi fermé
mardi fermé
mercredi fermé
jeudi 14:00 - 18:00 h
vendredi 14:00 - 18:00 h
samedi 14:00 - 18:00 h
dimanche 14:00 - 18:00 h
sluitingsperiode(s)

16/11/2020 - 31/12/2020

exceptionnellement fermé
  • 1 novembre 2020
modes de paiement

,

Locatie

Kraanrei 19 , Brugge
instructions

Lieu

Accessibilité
  • Établissement partiellement accessible Établissement partiellement accessible
Facilités
  • Langer les bébés Langer les bébés

Contact & Informatie