en

Face to Face with Death. Hugo van der Goes, old masters and new interpretations

From 28 October, Musea Brugge will be presenting the exhibition Oog in oog met de Dood (Face to Face with Death) at St John's Hospital. The exhibition, which starts with the masterpiece The Death of the Virgin by Hugo van der Goes, unites over seventy works; in addition to this Flemish masterpiece, it includes paintings by Hans Memling, Jan Provoost and Albrecht Bouts, among others, as well as sculptures, manuscripts and musical works. Five 'new masters', Berlinde De Bruyckere, Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker, Ilja Leonard Pfeijffer, Sholeh Rezazedeh and Ivo Van Hove, each introduce a facet of the exhibition and offer a new take on one of the most important works in Musea Brugge's world-renowned collection of Flemish primitives.

The Death of the Virgin by Hugo van der Goes is literally and figuratively the centrepiece of this exhibition. The painting, which he created between 1470 and 1472, shows a pale, blue-robed Virgin on her deathbed, surrounded by a group of apostles in a circular formation. Van der Goes found inspiration for the scene in the apocryphal gospels and the Legenda Aurea, which tells us how all the apostles were miraculously brought together around Mary's deathbed. The masterpiece underwent intensive restoration between 2018 and 2022 and is now on display to the general public for the first time.

The exhibition explores The Death of the Virgin in six themes. Each theme is elaborated on the basis of various masterpieces, from the museum's own collection and brought together from all over Europe. Paintings by Hans Memling, Jan Provoost and Albrecht Bouts, among others, will be on display, but the exhibition will also bring sculptures, manuscripts and musical pieces face to face with 'Death'. In total, more than seventy works of art will be displayed.

How can an artwork evoke universal themes that we are still discussing five centuries later? That the painting is more topical than ever is proven by five 'new masters', each of whom introduces a different facet of the exhibition. They are all virtuosos in their fields, touched in one way or another by The Death of the Virgin. They provide their innovative take on the themes in the work via video messages.

  • Berlinde De Bruyckere (1964), a top Belgian artist with numerous domestic and foreign exhibitions in renowned museums to her name.
  • Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker (1960), one of Belgium's most lauded choreographers and dancers. Founder of the world-renowned company Rosas, and inspiration and mentor to dance companies from around the world.
  • Ilja Leonard Pfeijffer (1968), Dutch poet and author of bestsellers such as Grand Hotel Europa and La Superba, for which he received the Libris Literature Award.
  • Sholeh Rezazadeh (1989), young Iranian-Dutch writer and doctor. With her debut novel 'De hemel is altijd paars' (The Sky Is Always Purple) she stood out in the international literary world and won several awards.
  • Ivo van Hove (1958), theatre and opera director, and also director of the International Theater Amsterdam. He has already worked with several top international names, including David Bowie on the musical Lazarus.
     

As part of the exhibition, Musea Brugge is also organising various public activities, including a concert and performance programme in collaboration with Concertgebouw Brugge, Cactus Muziekcentrum, VIERNULVIER and KAAP, among others.

To pdf

Other top events

Time information

from 28-10-2022 to 05-02-2023
Monday closed
Tuesday 09:30 - 17:00 h
Wednesday 09:30 - 17:00 h
Thursday 09:30 - 17:00 h
Friday 09:30 - 17:00 h
Saturday 09:30 - 17:00 h
Sunday 09:30 - 17:00 h

Location

Mariastraat 38 , Brugge
directions

fr

Face à face avec la mort. Hugo van der Goes, un nouveau regard sur les anciens maîtres

À partir du 28 octobre, Musea Brugge présente l’exposition Face à face avec la mort à l’hôpital Saint-Jean. L’exposition, qui débute par le chef-d’œuvre La mort de la Vierge de Hugo Van der Goes, rassemble plus de soixante-dix œuvres : outre ce chef-d’œuvre flamand, des peintures de Hans Memling, Jan Provoost et Albrecht Bouts, entre autres, mais aussi des sculptures, des manuscrits et des œuvres musicales. Cinq « nouveaux maîtres » - Berlinde De Bruyckere, Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker, Ilja Leonard Pfeijffer, Sholeh Rezazedeh et Ivo Van Hove - présentent chacun une facette de l’exposition et offrent une nouvelle perspective sur l’une des œuvres les plus importantes de la collection de primitifs flamands de renommée mondiale de Musea Brugge.

L’œuvre La Mort de la Vierge de Hugo van der Goes est, au sens propre comme au sens figuré, au centre de cette exposition de haut niveau à l’Hôpital Saint-Jean. Le tableau, qu’il a réalisé entre 1470 et 1472, montre la Sainte Vierge pâle et vêtue d’un manteau bleu sur son lit de mort, entourée d’un groupe d’apôtres disposés en cercle. Le chef-d’œuvre a fait l’objet d’une restauration intensive entre 2018 et 2022 et est à présent exposé pour la première fois au public.

L’exposition explore La mort de la Vierge autour de six thèmes. Chaque thème est élaboré sur la base de divers chefs-d’œuvre, issus de la collection du musée et provenant de l’Europe entière. On pourra y voir notamment des peintures de Hans Memling, Jan Provoost et Albrecht Bouts, mais l’exposition amène également des sculptures, des manuscrits et des pièces musicales face à face avec « la Mort ». Au total, plus de soixante-dix œuvres d’art seront exposées.

Comment se fait-il que, cinq siècles plus tard, une œuvre évoque encore des thèmes universels dont nous pouvons parler entre nous ? La preuve que la peinture est plus que jamais d’actualité est apportée par cinq « nouveaux maîtres », qui introduisent chacun une facette de l’exposition. Ce sont tous des virtuoses dans leur domaine, touchés d’une manière ou d’une autre par La Mort de la Vierge. Dans des messages vidéo, ils donnent leur vision innovante des thèmes de l’œuvre.

  • Berlinde De Bruyckere (1964) est une artiste belge de premier plan qui possède à son palmarès de nombreuses expositions nationales et étrangères dans des musées renommés.
  • Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker (1960) est l’une des chorégraphes et danseuses les plus acclamées de Belgique. Fondatrice de la compagnie Rosas de renommée mondiale, elle est une source d’inspiration et un modèle pour des compagnies de danse du monde entier.
  • Ilja Leonard Pfeijffer (1968) est un poète néerlandais et auteur de best-sellers tels que Grand Hotel Europa et La Superba, pour lequel il a reçu le prix littéraire Libris.
  • Sholeh Rezazadeh (1989) est une jeune écrivaine et médecin irano-néerlandaise. Avec son premier roman « De hemel is altijd paars » (Le ciel est toujours violet), elle a attiré l’attention du monde littéraire international et a remporté plusieurs prix.
  • Ivo van Hove (1958), metteur en scène de théâtre et d’opéra, est également directeur de l’Internationaal Theater Amsterdam. Il a déjà travaillé avec plusieurs grands noms internationaux, dont David Bowie pour la comédie musicale Lazarus.
     

Musea Brugge organise également diverses activités publiques en rapport avec l’exposition, dont un programme de concerts et de scènes en collaboration avec le Concertgebouw Brugge, Cactus Muziekcentrum, VIERNULVIER et KAAP, entre autres.

vers pdf

Autres top événements

Informations horaires

de 28-10-2022 à 05-02-2023
lundi fermé
mardi 09:30 - 17:00 h
mercredi 09:30 - 17:00 h
jeudi 09:30 - 17:00 h
vendredi 09:30 - 17:00 h
samedi 09:30 - 17:00 h
dimanche 09:30 - 17:00 h

Location

Mariastraat 38 , Brugge
instructions