en

Centrale Begraafplaats Assebroek (Main cemetery)

This mysterious burial ground is not only the oldest in Belgium, it is also a wonderful place of silence within walking distance of the city centre. Prominent Bruges figures from the arts, literature, politics or nobility have been given their final resting place here.

Cemetery since 1787
At the end of the 18th century, Emperor Joseph II ordered an end to the centuries-old tradition of burying people around the churches. Graveyards had to be removed from the city, well outside the city walls, because hygiene and public health took priority. The Bruges city council promptly bought a plot of land in Assebroek. The first burial took place in 1787 and from 1810 onwards, all inhabitants of Bruges were buried here.

Contemplative atmosphere
Access the cemetery via the beautiful gatehouse. The peace and quiet, along with the overwhelming greenery, are bound to slow down your heartbeat. Just have a wander around. Notice the ancient beech trees, some of which are more than 200 years old. In the 19th century, an imposing grave monument was a status symbol for the well-heeled. Keeping up appearances for eternity. Many gravestones and tombstones are the product of the creative minds of high-profile sculptors. Enjoy the melancholic splendour that can be found in abundance.

Prominent Bruges
On Bruges' Père-Lachaise, you will find, among others, the graves of the famous city architect Louis Delacenserie, the poet Guido Gezelle and the Brit James Weale, known for his research on the Flemish Primitives. The souls of many other artists, architects and historians also find everlasting refuge here.

From 2 to 12 hectares
Compared to 1787, the cemetery is now much larger. At a certain point in time, plots were added for members of the clergy, such as Jesuits and beguinage nuns. The British, who were present in large numbers in the city in the 19th century, were also allocated a place here. A sizeable proportion of the cemetery has been occupied by war graves since the First World War. This is the final resting place of Belgian, British and German soldiers and civilians who lost their lives in the war. The most recent expansion accommodates a columbarium with a scattering area and urn tombstones.

Valuable heritage
A remarkable building near the entrance houses a small exhibition about the beautiful heritage, folklore, art and architecture. Admire the typical grave symbols. The hourglass as a symbol of the passing of time. Or the dove, the snakes or the skull. Together they tell a tale of hope, fear or love.

Living cemetery
These days, the Stedelijke Commissie voor Graftekens (Municipal Shrines Commission) advises the city on the management and restoration of the cemetery. Bruges has been a pioneer in the repurposing of graves, i.e. the reuse of old grave monuments, since the 1980s. The graves are being cleared, but the city also encourages the preservation and restoration of historic and monumental tombs. This means that ancient tombs are retained.

To pdf

Time information

from 01-04-2021 to 15-10-2021
Monday 08:00 - 18:00 h
Tuesday 08:00 - 18:00 h
Wednesday 08:00 - 18:00 h
Thursday 08:00 - 18:00 h
Friday 08:00 - 18:00 h
Saturday 08:00 - 18:00 h
Sunday 08:00 - 18:00 h

Locatie

Kleine Kerkhofstraat 62 , Brugge
directions

Contact & Informatie

fr

Centrale Begraafplaats Assebroek (Cimetière central)

Ce mystérieux cimetière n'est pas seulement le plus ancien de Belgique. C'est aussi un merveilleux lieu de silence, à quelques pas du centre-ville. D'éminentes personnalités brugeoises des arts, de la littérature, de la politique ou de la noblesse y ont trouvé leur dernière demeure.

Cimetière depuis 1787
À la fin du 18e siècle, l'empereur Joseph II ordonne la fin de la tradition séculaire des enterrements autour de l'église. Les cimetières doivent être déplacés, bien en dehors des murs de la ville, car l'hygiène et la santé publique sont des priorités. Les autorités communales de Bruges achètent rapidement un terrain à Assebroek. Le premier enterrement y a eu lieu en 1787 et depuis 1810, tous les habitants de Bruges ont été enterrés ici.

Une atmosphère feutrée
Vous entrez dans le cimetière par un joli portail. La paix et le calme, ainsi que le vert omniprésent, ralentissent les battements de votre cœur. Promenez-vous tout simplement. Admirez les hêtres à l'âge canonique, certains ayant plus de 200 ans. Au XIXe siècle, un monument funéraire imposant était un symbole de statut social pour les citoyens aisés. Signe ultime pour l'éternité. De nombreuses pierres tombales et sépulcrales sont issues de l'esprit créatif de sculpteurs de renom. Profitez de tant de splendeur mélancolique.

Élites brugeoises
Sur ce Père Lachaise de Bruges, vous trouverez, entre autres, les tombes du célèbre architecte de la ville Louis Delacenserie, du poète Guido Gezelle et du Britannique James Weale, connu pour ses recherches sur les Primitifs flamands. Les âmes de nombreux autres artistes, architectes et historiens y trouvent également le repos éternel.

De 2 à 12 hectares
Par rapport à 1787, le cimetière est maintenant beaucoup plus grand. À un moment donné, des parcelles ont été ajoutées pour les religieux, comme les jésuites et les sœurs du béguinage. Les Britanniques, qui étaient présents en grand nombre dans la ville au XIXe siècle, se sont également vu attribuer un coin particulier. Depuis la Première Guerre mondiale, une grande partie du cimetière est occupée par des tombes de guerre. Ici reposent des soldats et des civils belges, britanniques et allemands qui ont perdu la vie pendant la guerre. L'extension la plus récente permet d'accueillir un columbarium avec une pelouse de dispersion des cendres et un monument cinéraire.

Un patrimoine précieux
Un bâtiment remarquable situé près de l'entrée abrite une petite exposition. Sur le magnifique patrimoine, le folklore, l'art et l'architecture. Regardez les symboles typiques des tombes. Le sablier comme symbole du temps qui passe. Ou la colombe, les serpents ou la tête de mort. Ensemble, ils racontent une histoire d'espoir, de peur ou d'amour.

Un cimetière vivant
Aujourd'hui, la Stedelijke Commissie voor Graftekens (Commission pour les signes funéraires de la ville de Bruges) conseille la ville sur la gestion et la restauration du cimetière. Depuis les années 80, Bruges fait figure de pionnière en matière de réaffectation des tombes, c'est-à-dire de réutilisation des anciens monuments funéraires. Ainsi, des tombes sont enlevées, mais la ville encourage également la préservation et la restauration des monuments funéraires historiques. De cette façon, un vieux cimetière continue à vivre.

vers pdf
Best of Bruges Deal

Réservez un séjour d'au moins deux nuits à Bruges et profitez d'un Best of Bruges Deal exclusif gratuit d'une valeur de 50 euros!

  En savoir plus >  

vers pdf

Informations horaires

de 16-10-2021 à 31-03-2022
lundi 08:00 - 17:00 h
mardi 08:00 - 17:00 h
mercredi 08:00 - 17:00 h
jeudi 08:00 - 17:00 h
vendredi 08:00 - 17:00 h
samedi 08:00 - 17:00 h
dimanche 08:00 - 17:00 h

Locatie

Kleine Kerkhofstraat 62 , Brugge
instructions

Contact & Informatie