Sint-Godelieveabdij (St Godelina’s Abbey)
Benedictine nuns from Gistel already established themselves here in 1623. A few years later a new, sober brick convent was built. The listed chapel (1626), the entrance building (1633) and the south wing (1634) can still be admired today, together with the ambulatory and the former farm. Inside the chapel the Baroque altar, the pulpit and the carved wooden choir stalls stand out.During the summer of 2021 and for the first time in almost 400 years, St. Godelieve’s Abbey in Bruges opened its doors for a month for those who wanted to discover its rich history. More than 15,000 visitors seized this unique opportunity to explore what has remained hidden until now and to think about a new future for this religious heritage site. In summer 2022, the final results of the investigation into the future of St. Godelieve’s Abbey were announced.
Centrum-'t Zand car park
Boeveriestraat 45-47, 8000 Brugge